Annual Meeting of Members

Falmouth, MA - Falmouth Community Television (FCTV) held its Annual Meeting of Members at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel on May 29, 2018.

Executive Director/CEO Debra Rogers began the meeting by welcoming and thanking the members, viewers, sponsors and community for their support and engagement with FCTV over the last year and recognized the staff and Board of Directors for their efforts on behalf of the organization. An awards ceremony was then held to recognize those who made significant contributions through their dedication and commitment to Falmouth Community Television.

Education Channel 14 Coordinator Ryan Webber presented Falmouth High School senior Isabella Youmans with the Youth Volunteer of the Year award, acknowledging her commitment as crew on numerous productions including Falmouth Road Race, FHS News, Clipper sports, concerts and more. He noted she will continue her studies in media at Columbia College.

Program Coordinator Anthony Sadera then presented the Volunteer of the Year Award to Chris Smallis who in just a year of involvement at FCTV has made his mark, operating a camera for the Falmouth Commodores baseball games, covering Planning and Zoning Board Meetings and directing or serving as a crew on studio productions including Conversations with Barbara and Solutions with Eileen Preston.Kevin K Lynch

Debra Rogers, FCTV Executive Director/CEO presented the Producer of the Year award to Lt. Colonel Kevin K. Lynch (Ret.) for his hundreds of programs produced over the course of his time as a volunteer community producer at FCTV. She noted that his programs have weaved together a mosaic of 26 years of the life of Falmouth highlighting candidates for office, deliberations on decisions facing Falmouth, the breathtaking beauty of our community, features on non-profit organizations and community groups, disability rights, sporting and other events, lectures, nature, science, history, food, and, as the former head of the Cape Cod Civil air patrol and Lt. Colonel in the Army National Guard – Kevin introduced viewers to our local base and those who live and work there. For many years Lt. Col. Lynch served as the producer of the Falmouth Road Race and Mrs. Rogers sited his documentation of such things as the renovation of our public library, high school, and bike path expansion as just a few examples of the gifts he has bestowed upon our community, serving as an archive to our collective history.

Debra also presented the Sponsor of the Year award to Oppenheim & Nickerson, LLP which has consistently and generously supported FCTV efforts. “Jeff Oppenheim and everyone at Oppenheim & Nickerson have been instrumental in helping us navigate everything from real estate closings to contracts, policies and most recently, the world of zoning and conservation” she said.

Following the Awards Presentations, elected officials spoke, including Susan Moran, Chair of the Falmouth Board of Selectmen, State Representative David Vieira, State Representative Dylan Fernandes, State Senator Vinny deMacedo and Congressman William Keating representative Anthony Morse, all of whom commended the organization and its members for service to the community and spoke out in support of legislation which would require cable providers to carry community channels on the HD tier and on the electronic program guide.

Susan MoranPresident of the FCTV Board of Directors, Ahmed Mustafa then conducted the business portion of the meeting, summarizing some of FCTV’s many achievements outlined in the Annual Report that was distributed to all attendees and presenting the 2017 Year in Review video, which highlighted the programs, events, people and accomplishments that made 2017 a successful year at FCTV. The minutes from the 2017 Annual Meeting were presented and approved, and an election was conducted that saw Pat Thatcher and Jeffrey Oppenheim re-elected and newcomer Barbara Kanellopoulos elected to three-year terms of office to the Board of Directors. Following the Annual Meeting of members, the FCTV Board held the Annual Meeting of the Board of Directors. The following officers were re-elected; Ahmed Mustafa, Chair, Michael Finegold, Treasurer, Pat Thatcher, Secretary. The other members of the Board of Directors include: Linda Davis, Jeffrey Oppenheim, Michael Duffany, Michael Palmer and Barbara Kanellopoulos. 

Falmouth Community Television (FCTV) is a nonprofit community media center that fosters the production and distribution of local information. FCTV provides access to training, technology and content to encourage community dialogue, awareness and expression. To see upcoming classes, to view all channel programming, and to stay informed, please visit FCTV’s website at, LIKE Falmouth Community Television on Facebook and subscribe to FCTV’s YouTube and Twitter feeds.

To see more photos of this event, go to: